Shop By Category


  • Home
  • John Andrew Apprentice of the Year

BACK IN 2021!

The John Andrew Apprentice of the Year Competition (JAAOTY) recognises the next generation of high achievers in the locksmithing industry in Australia and New Zealand.

Competitors get the opportunity to demonstrate their skills and knowledge in a practical testing environment. The tasks include picking and impressioning, lock fitting, electronic safe lock installation and programming, producing and programming an automotive key and masterkeying.

The major sponsors of the JAAOTY Competition are LSC, Silca and ABUS, with the winner and their mentor receiving a fully funded trip to Europe to visit the Silca factory in Italy and the ABUS factory in Germany, both world-class manufacturing facilities.

Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic prevented the competition from being held in 2020, but the JAAOTY Competition will be back in 2021 and a new winner added to the honour roll.


This annual award honours the memory of the late John Andrew who was the Association's inaugural Life Member and a winner of the A.L. Chantry Memorial Award for the Pursuit of Excellence. Eligible apprentices employed by MLAA Business members in Australia and New Zealand are invited to participate.

The test covers Picking, Impressioning, Lockfitting, Master Keying and General Knowledge.

LSC is proud to be a major supporter of the Award. The winner of the competition and their mentor receive a fully funded trip to Europe to visit the Silca factory in Italy and the ABUS factory in Germany.


  • Testing will be conducted during August 2019 at KJ Ross Security Locks in Victoria
  • Travel costs of the applicant will be covered by the MLAA
  • Applications are now closed
  • Click here for the Terms & Conditions

2019 Apprentice of the Year - Jesse Shepherd

Past winners: 

Year Apprentice of the Year Branch Employer
2000 Chris Verbolle VIC Stewarts Security Specialists
2001 David Overend NZ James Bull & Co
2002 Eric Yornsten NZ Armstrong Locksmiths
2003 Nathan De Rooy NSW Brian Preddey Locksmiths
2004 Andrew Worsfold QLD Northside Locksmiths
2005 James Methven VIC Echuca Locksmiths
2006 Shane Cook VIC Echuca Locksmiths
2007 Bradley Wheeler VIC East Gippsland Keys & Locks
2008 Adam Burling WA SAS Locksmithing Services
2009 Robert Jeges VIC API Security - Moorabbin
2010 Kyle Bevans VIC Bendigo Locksmiths
2011 Nicole Bornis QLD Ruswin
2012 David Monahu VIC Omega Corporate Security
2013 Daniel Kolosi VIC Corporate Locksmiths
2014 Nicholas Smith QLD Keycut Services Pty Ltd
2015 Luke Bergin QLD Ruswin
2016 Peng (Leo) Guo VIC A.S.A.P. Locksmiths
2017 Zach Winslade NSW Independent Locksmiths & Security
2018 Riley Davison VIC A.S.A.P. Locksmiths
2019 Jesse Shepherd SA Valley Locksmiths & Security

Recently Viewed

Loading Icon
No Recently Viewed Products


Products to compare:
Comparing Products